Pranab Mukherjee elected as the President of India

Pranab Mukherjee President of India

Pranab Mukherjee 13th President of India

UPA candidate Pranab Mukherjee wins the presidential race by beating NDA-backed PA Sangma by a huge margin as he scored more than 558,000 votes crossing the required half-way mark of 5,25,140 votes.

The returning officer for the presidential elections, VK Agnihotri, announced a little after 6.30 pm on Sunday, “Pranab Mukherjee has been duly elected to the office of President of India.” Mr Mukherjee has won the election with 69.31 per cent votes; he polled 713,937 votes of the total 10,29,924 votes. His opponent Purno Sangma had 315,987 votes or 30.69 per cent of the total votes.

Mukherjee, often referred to as the best Prime Minister India never had, began his political career in 1969 and has served in every Congress cabinet since Indira Gandhi was Prime Minister.

Pranab Mukherjee will take oath as the 13th President of India at 11.30 am on Wednesday, July 25.