Utkal Divas 2012 Orissa

Utkal Divas 2012

Utkal Divas 2012 Orissa

April 1 of every year is celebrated as Utkal Divas by all Oriyas (Odias) all over the world. In 1936, on this day Orissa became a Swatantra Pradesh. After the defeat and demise of the last Hindu king Mukunda Dev, Odisha lost its complete political identity in 1568.

To regain our pride odia people revolt in the leadership of Utkala Gouraba Madhusudan Das, Utkala mani Gopabandhu Das, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati, Pandita Nilakantha Das, Fakir Mohan Senapati, Gangadhar Meher, Basudeba Sudhaladeba, Radhanath Ray, Bhubanananda Das, A. P. Patro and many others. They founded Utkal Sammilani and fought for three decades and their effort resulted into the formation of a politically separate state under British rule on linguistic basis on 1 April 1936.

The newly formed Odisha consisted of six districts as Cutack, Puri, Baleswar, Sambalpur, Koraput and Ganjam having its capital at Cuttack. John Austin Hubback took oath of office and became the first Governor of Orissa Province.

Utkal Divas 2012 – Utkal Diwas 2012 – Orissa Day April 1