Home > Oriya News > National Contemporary Theatre Festival

National Contemporary Theatre Festival

National Contemporary Theatre Festival – a part of “Maati Ke Rang”, the Silver Jubilee celebration of Zonal Cultural Centers from 11th to 15th January, 2013 at Rabindra Mandap, Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India at 6.30 pm.

Organized by :
Odisha Sangeet Natak Akademi
Department of Culture, Odisha
EZCC Kolkata

In association with :
Odisha Tourism
Odisha Natya Sangha

Programme :

11th January
Play – Bawa Jitto
Theatre – NATRANG, Jammu & Kashmir
Director – Balwant Thakur
National Contemporary Theatre Festival
12th January
Play – Yaar Banna Buddy
Theatre – EKJUTE, Maharastra
Director – Nadira Zaheer Babbar

13th January
Play – Sidhi Dar Sidhi Urf Tukke Pe Tukka
Theatre – RANG VIDUSAK, Madhya Pradesh
Director – Bansi Kaul

14th January
Play – Pinky Bulli
Theatre – SAYAK, West Bengal
Director – Meghanad Bhattacharya

15th January
Play – Suna Panjuri
Theatre – ANNAPURNA THEATRE “A” GROUP, Puri, Odisha
Director – Nityananda Dash

The Odisha Sangeet Natak Akademi, in association with the Odisha Natya Sangha, an association of leading theatre groups of the state, has decided to organize theatre festivals and seminars in every zone of the state to encourage theatre artistes. Zone-wise competitions will also be held at Puri, Damanjodi, Rourkela, Berhampur and Balasore. At each place, six plays from six districts will be staged, thus covering all the 30 districts of the state.

“The move aims to encourage theatre artists at the district-level,” said culture minister Maheswar Mohanty. He also emphasized on modernization of auditoriums at Puri and Baripada to encourage actors, directors and other theatre artistes. The decision was taken at a meeting attended by culture secretary Ashok Kumar Tripathy, culture director Sushil Das, veteran theatre artistes Dhira Mallick, Haren Sahoo, Avinna Routray, Asim Basu, Prasanna Mishra and others.

Similar Posts