Home > Oriya News > Odisha beat Jharkhand by nine wickets

Odisha beat Jharkhand by nine wickets

Odisha beat Jharkhand by 9 wickets in the Ranji Trophy match played at the DRIEMS ground at Tangi near Cuttack today. This is the first time that Odisha has beaten its neighbour in the Ranji matches.

Odisha first innings – 307 (Pati 94, Yadav 5-61),
2nd innings – 109 for 1 (Rout 67*),
Jharkhand 1st innings – 221 (Tiwary 67, Mohanty 5-60) and
Second innings – 194 (Pappu 61, Mohanty 6-88).

Odisha registered a nine-wicket win by restricting Jharkhand to 194 in the second innings and chasing 109 with ease on the fourth day in Cuttack. Odisha medium-pacer Alok Chandra Sahoo took all four Jharkhand wickets in the morning and Odisha were helped by an unbeaten fifty from opener Girjia Rout during the chase.
Orissa Ranji team 2012
Jharkhand started the day at 149 for 6 but Sahoo struck on the second ball of the day, dismissing Bhavik Thaker for 9. Six overs later, Sahoo sent a well-set Pappu Singh back to the pavilion for 61. Shahbaz Nadeem and Shankar Rao resisted with scores of 20 and 10 but both fell soon, giving Sahoo figures of 4 for 42.

Odisha were hardly bothered in their chase as only one wicket fell, when Varun Aaron had Vikas Pati caught for 11. Rout scored a brisk 67 and along with Niranjan Behera (27), took them home in 30 overs.

With today’s victory Odisha has gained 6 points.

Similar Posts