Home > Oriya News > New names for OPL 2013 teams

New names for OPL 2013 teams

Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) officials announced new names for the eight teams slated to take part in the second edition of the Odisha Premier League starting April 1.

They will no longer be called Red, Blue, Green, Yellow, North, East, West and South. Now they are named after locations of historic and tourist importance in the state such as Barabati, Dhauli, Konark, Chilika, Mahanadi, Baitarani, Subarnarekha and Rushikulya.

Besides making elaborate plans for a grand inaugural ceremony at Barabati Stadium, the association has earmarked a budget of Rs 2 crore for the 12-day cricketing extravaganza.

Officials said another 24 players from a new category ‘E’ have been added to the existing pool of 136 players earlier placed in categories A, B, C and D. A total of 160 players (32 each in categories A, B, C, 40 in D and 24 in E) will be picked by the eight teams through a lottery system.
OPL Odisha Premier League 2013
Players in grade A will be entitled Rs 50,000 while grade B players will receive Rs 40,000. Grade C and D players will get 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively. Category E players will receive Rs 10,000.

The Twenty 20 tournament could not be held last year after it came under the scanner of the vigilance department following allegations of black money having been invested.

OCA, thus, decided to conduct the OPL on its own and decided to raise the cash award by Rs 1 lakh each for the winner and runners-up teams. While the champion side will now walk away with Rs 3 lakh, the runners-up will bag Rs 2 lakh. (Source – The Telegraph)

Similar Posts