Home > Orissa > Orissa


orissa or odisha
Orissa (Odisha)


Orissa (now renamed as Odisha), is a state of India. Before it was named as Utkal and before that, as Kalinga. It is located in the east coast of India, by the Bay of Bengal.

The modern state of Orissa was established on 1st April 1936. Therefore 1st April is celebrated as Utkal Divas or Orissa Day (Odisha Day). Oriya (Odia) is the official language of the state. By area, Orissa is the ninth largest and by population, it is the eleventh largest state of India.

Orissa was renamed as Odisha and Oriya as Odia by Parliament of India on 9th November 2010.

Bhubaneswar is the capital of Orissa. It’s also widely known as temple city. Before that, Cuttack was the capital.There are 30 districts in Orissa. Those are — Angul, Boudh, Bhadrak, Bolangir, Bargarh, Balasore, Cuttack (Kataka), Debagarh, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Jharsuguda, Jajapur, Jagatsinghpur, Khordha, Keonjhar, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Koraput, Kendrapara, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Nabarangpur, Nuapada, Nayagarh, Puri, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Subarnapur, Sundargarh. Except Bhubaneswar, major cities in Odisha are Cuttack, Berhampur, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Bolangir, Balasore & Puri.


View Larger Map

Similar Posts

One Comment

  1. Bravo ! Keep posting like this man . Post more about Orissa’s history, art, culture etc.

Comments are closed.