Home > Odia News > Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Competition 2019: Winners from Odisha

Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Competition 2019: Winners from Odisha

National Innovation Foundation – India (NIF) announced the winners of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Competition 2019 on the birth anniversary of former President of India, which is celebrated as the Children’s Creativity and Innovation Day by NIF. Odisha has maximum winners as compared to other states in this competition.

Four school students from Odisha, including two from Bhubaneswar, were selected for the prestigious Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Award, 2019 for their innovations.

The four students are Bhaibvav Parida (DAV Chandrashekharpur, Bhubaneswar), Devjit Prasad Majhi (BJEM, Bhubaneswar), Tanmay Kumar Sethi (DPS Rourkela) and Swastik Shubham (Kendriya Vidyalaya No. 1, Sambalpur). They will receive the awards on November 30, 2019.

While Bhaibvav was selected for inventing “friendly toilets for the visually challenged”, Devjit bagged the honors for his innovative “fast drying shoes”. Tanmay has impressed the judges with his “insect-killing dustbin” and Swastik was selected for his innovative “modified broom with dust collector for cleaning ceilings”.

Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE 2019 competition, a national competition of original technological ideas and innovations by children up to class 12 or those out of school up to the age of 17 years, is organised by NIF every year to promote creativity and originality among children.

Over 60,000 entries of students from 544 districts across the country were received during the IGNITE 2019 competition, which ran from September 1, 2018, to August 31, 2019. Of them, 18 ideas and innovations proposed by 21 students from nine states and Union Territories have been selected for the award.

READ: Bali Jatra 2019 to be held from November 12 to 19 this year

APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Competition

Similar Posts