Home > Odia News > Three Odisha airports to be developed under Udan 4 scheme

Three Odisha airports to be developed under Udan 4 scheme

The Centre has agreed to include three airports in Odisha under the regional connectivity scheme. The three airports would be developed under the UDAN 4 (Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik) scheme, officials said.

“Discussion held yesterday with the visiting civil aviation secretary. Rourkela (Sundergarh), Jeypore (Koraput) and Utkela (Kalahandi) will go again to the next round of the UDAN scheme. There is inbuilt subsidy support to the state government along with Centre in this initiative,” Odisha’s Chief Secretary A K Tripathy said, adding that this will help enhance the connectivity in the remote and regional areas of the state.

Civil Aviation Secretary Pradeep Singh Kharola said, “We had a meeting regarding steps to be taken for improvement of air connectivity in Odisha. We are in touch with the state government and whatever issues are there, will be resolved.”

The Vir Surendra Sai (VSS) Airport in Jharsuguda was earlier included under UDAN-3. Earlier this year, commercial flight service was initiated from Veer Surendra Sai Airport at Jharsuguda to six cities of the country under the third phase of the UDAN scheme.

Official sources said the Centre has sanctioned Rs 160 crore for the development of the airports at Jharsuguda, Jeypore, Utkela, and Rourkela.

READ: India’s first Syngas plant to be established in Odisha: Dharmendra

odisha airports udan scheme

Similar Posts