Home > Odia News > OSRTC launches 19 AC buses on 11 routes across Odisha

OSRTC launches 19 AC buses on 11 routes across Odisha

Now the passengers will not be worried about summer blues while travelling in the Odisha government-owned buses, because Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik flagged off a new fleet of 20 buses, including 19 air-conditioned deluxe buses, at a special function on Saturday.

The AC buses will ply on 11 routes in the State. This is for the first time that Odisha State Road Transport Corporation (OSRTC) has introduced air-conditioned luxurious buses to provide passengers comfort and good travelling experience.

AC buses will be run in 11 different routes: Bhubaneswar-Malkangiri, Cuttack-Nabarangpur, Cuttack-Berhampur, Keonjhar-Bhubaneswar, Bolangir-Berhampur, Burla-Berhampur, Berhampur-Chandahandi, Bhawanipatna-Visakhapatnam, Visakhapatnam-Jagdalpur, Jeypore-Cuttack and Angul-Damanjodi, while the OSRTC will ply the non-AC bus in Angul-Jeypore route via Bolangir.

The OSRTC, a state government undertaking, has purchased the buses at the cost of Rs 8.74 crore. It has spent Rs 44.5 lakh per an AC bus and Rs 28 lakh for a non-AC bus. The AC bus has 43 seats, while non-AC bus has 40 seats, official sources said.

Passengers have to pay Rs 1.05 per kilometer to travel in the AC luxury buses. As the current fleet of OSRTC buses did not have air conditioning facilities, the introduction of these modern luxurious buses will help the corporation get more passengers who can opt for the service instead of private buses.

WATCH: Satyajeet sings ‘Bolna’ song on Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Lil Champs

OSRTC AC buses

Similar Posts