Home > Odia News > Suna Besha 2023 of Lord Jagannath date

Suna Besha 2023 of Lord Jagannath date

Suna Besha of Lord Jagannath will be observed on 29 June 2023 (Thursday). Puri Suna Besa date is mentioned here. The deities (Jagannath, Balabhadra, and Subhadra) will be decorated with various gold ornaments during Suna Besha. The total weight of the ornaments is more than one quintal.

The Suna Besha or Rajadhiraja Bhesha or Raja Besa or Rajarajeshwara Besha happens on the day after the return of the Lords from Gundicha. On the day of Bada Ekadasi, the 11th day of the bright fortnight in Asadha, the deities, on their chariots itself done the golden attire or the Suna Besa, with hands, arms, and crown made of solid gold. Those are roughly 138 different types of gold jewelry, including kiriti, sribhuja, sripahara, kundala, baghadamali, ghagera, and kadambamali.

Suna Besha observed 5 times during a year. Generally, the Besha happens on Bijaya Dashami (in October), Kartika Purnima (in November), Pausa Purnima (in December), Magha Purnima (in January), and Asadha Ekadashi (July). The last Besha is observed on the chariot in front of Jagannath Temple, and the other four Beshas are observed in the temple on Ratna Singhasana.

ALSO READ: List of famous people not allowed inside Puri Jagannath Temple

During the reign of Ananga Bhima Deva, the king of Utkal, Lord Jagannath was declared as ‘Utkal Samrat’ or “Lord of the Nation” in the 13th century, and by then the Jagannath Temple at Puri had been built by him in 1198. According to temple history, Suna Besha was introduced during the era of King Kapilendradeva in 1460 AD.

Suna Besha Live

The East Coast Railway (ECoR) will run special trains to Puri on the occasion of Suna Besa to avoid the rush in regular trains. At least 26 special trains for Suna Besha will be run to Puri. ECoR has also arranged most of the special trains with reserved accommodation, unlike in previous years.

The Shree Jagannatha Temple Administration issued a complete schedule for the Suna Besha ritual.

Mangala Alati6 am to 6.30 am
Mailam-Tadapalagi7 am
Abakash8 am
Beshasesa9 am
Gopalballav10 am to 10.30 am
Sakala Dhoopa11 am to 12 noon
Mailam12.30 pm
Mahasnana1 pm
Beshasesa1.30 pm
Madhyahna Dhoopa2 pm to 3 pm
Mailam3.30 pm
Sandhya Alati4 pm
Ekadashi Sarbanga4.30 pm
Suna Besha5 pm to 6.30 pm
Sandhya Dhoopa8 pm to 9 pm
Mahadeepa9.15 pm
Suna Besha Mailam10 pm to 11 pm
Chandanlagi11.30 pm
Badasinghar Besha12 midnight

Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.