Home > Oriya News > Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2013

Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2013

The Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra awards for 2013 will be conferred on two artistes – Guru Shankar Behera and Guru Ghanashyam Panda – for their contribution to the field of Odissi dance and music, respectively.

The award function will be held at Rabindra Bhavan in Bhubaneswar from September 5 to 9.

“This was my father’s initiative to recognise the efforts and lifetime contribution of artistes or those related to various genres of culture. Already 41 luminaries in the artistes’ community have been awarded,” said Ratikant Mohapatra, festival organiser and son of Kelucharan Mohapatra.

The prominent artistes who will perform in the festival include Bijayini Satpathy (Odissi), Nayan Ghosh (Tabla), Deepak Maharaj (Kathak), Ronu Majumdar (Flute), Rama Vaidyanathan (Bharatanatyam), and Purbyan Chatterjee (Sitar). Guru Ratikant Mohapatra will perform with artistes of Srjan on the last evening. The award festival is being organised by Srjan (Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Odissi Nrityabasa).
Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2013
Guru Shankar Behera’s dancing career, spread over four decades, began under Kelucharan Mohapatra’s tutelage. Behera not only established himself as an exponent in his field, but also trained renowned dancers such as Protima Bedi, Jhelum Paranjape, Soma Anand, Shobha De, Jaya Dheer, Neetu Singh, Ila Dalal, Florida Devi and Sanjeevni Dutta.

Guru Ghanashyam Panda joined Utkal Sangeet Mahavidyalaya in 1965 and was trained under legends such as Guru Singari Shyam Sundar Kar, Nrusingha Nath Khuntia, Sangeet Sudhakar Balakrushna Das and Guru Gopal Chandra Panda. As solo and accompanying vocalist, he has extensively toured in India and abroad with Kelucharan Mohapatra and many other dancers. He has sung for 20 Odia films and one Hindi film and has significantly contributed to the growth of Odissi music.

Similar Posts