Home > Odia News > Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra award 2014

Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra award 2014

Srjan director Guru Ratikant Mohapatra said – Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra award 2014 would be conferred on Guru Sudhakar Sahoo (dance), Niranjan Satpathy (theatre), Pandit Umesh Chandra Kar (music) and Prashant Nanda (cinema).

The award carries a cash prize of Rs 50,000, a citation and a memento.

The five-day awards festival will begin from September 5 at Rabindra Mandap. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who will attend the concluding evening on September 9 as chief guest, will present the awards.

Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra award is presented by Srjan, an organisation founded by Odissi guru Kelcharan Mohapatra, every year to artistes who have have excelled themselves in the field of dance, music, theatre, cinema and been conferred uninterruptedly for last 19 years on 41 luminaries in the artist community.

On September 5, Ramil Ibrahim of Malaysia would perform Odissi and Sasank Subramanium of Chennai would give a performance in Carnatic flute.

On September 6, Vaibhav Airekar of Mumbai and internationally-reputed drummer Anandan Sivamani would present their performances.

On September 7, Mumbai-based Daksha Mashruwala would perform a musical drama ‘saggy baggy’ the story of a baby elephant.

On September 8, Prashant Shah (USA) would perform Kathak and Neeladri Kumar would perform with the sitar.

On September 9, Synthesis (abstract fusion) and Kubjaa, a mythological theme, would be performed.

Similar Posts