Home > Odia News > B.Ed in 29 govt colleges, M.Ed in 6 universities from 2016-17

B.Ed in 29 govt colleges, M.Ed in 6 universities from 2016-17

The Odisha govt has decided to offer B.Ed courses in 29 government colleges and M.Ed courses in 6 state-run universities from 2016-17 to meet the shortage of trained manpower for appointment as teachers.

“The 14 govt colleges will be selected in such a way that at least one government college is located in each of the 13 undivided districts,” higher education minister Pradeep Panigrahy said.

“And the universities will submit applications to National Council of Teachers’ Education, to open B.Ed, integrated MA (education) and integrated BEd/MEd,” he added.

Government sources said the teacher training courses would be run in self-financed mode with no cost burden on the state.

The colleges will offer either four-year integrated BA or B.Sc programmes of two-year B.Ed courses.

The State Council of Educational Research and Training and Regional Institute of Education will develop curriculum for the two-year BEd/MEd courses since the ongoing BEd/MEd courses are of one-year duration each.

The 29 colleges that will offer B.Ed courses are Sailabala Women’s College of Cuttack, BJB College of Bhubaneswar, Rajdhani college of Bhubaneswar, SCS College of Puri, Khallikote College of Brahmapur, Government College in Koraput, Government College in Bhawanipatna, Rajendra College in Bolangir, Panchayat College in Bargarh, Government College in Sundargarh, DD College of Keonjhar, MPC College of Baripada, FM College of Balasore, Dhenkanal College, Government College of Phulbani, Bhadrak College, Government Women’s College in Bolangir, KKS Women’s College in Balasore, Women’s College in Dhenkanal, NG Women’s College in Aska, Government Women’s College in Bhawanipatna, Government Women’s College in Keonjhar, Government Women’s College in Jaipur, Government Women’s College in Baripada, GM College of Sambalpur, Government Women’s College of Sambalpur, Government Women’s College of Sundargarh, Rourkela Government College and SG Women’s College of Rourkela.

school & mass education department odisha

The six universities that would offer M.Ed courses are Utkal University, Sambalpur University, Brahmapur University, North Odisha University, FM University and Srijagannath Sanskrit University.

At present, there are 14 teacher training institutes (TEIs) which offer the BEd and MEd courses with an intake capacity of around 2000 students.

Similar Posts