Home > Odia News > Pratyusha Rajeswari of BJD wins Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat

Pratyusha Rajeswari of BJD wins Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat

Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh of Odisha’s ruling BJD party wins the Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat, held earlier by her deceased husband Hemendra Chandra Singh, whose untimely death had necessitated the bypoll.

Rajeswari secured 477,529 votes while her nearest rival, Rudra Madhav Ray of BJP, received 178,661 votes, state’s joint chief electoral officer Jyoti Prakash Das said. Congress candidate Abhimanyu Behera stood third, securing just 90,536 votes, Das said.

BJD president and Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik expressed his gratitude to the people of Kandhamal for the great victory of his party’s candidate Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh, who defeated her nearest rival Rudramadhab Ray of the BJP by over 2,98,000 votes in the Lok Sabha by-poll.

The Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituency covers seven assembly segments spread over four districts of Kandhamal, Boudh, Nayagarh and Ganjam.

BJD leaders and workers celebrated Rajeswari’s victory by bursting crackers and distributing sweets in Phulbani town, district headquarters town of Kandhamal.

Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh

After the win, Rajeswari said she would work for the overall development of the region and fulfil the dream of her late husband.

“It is the victory of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik,” she told reporters.

Similar Posts