Home > Odia News > Rourkela airport gets DGCA license to become third airport of Odisha

Rourkela airport gets DGCA license to become third airport of Odisha

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) granted license to Rourkela airport to make it the third operational airport in Odisha after the Veer Surendra Sai Airport at Jharsuguda and Biju Patnaik International Airport in Bhubaneswar.

The Ministry of Civil Aviation confirmed the development in a tweet.

After inception of Rourkela Steel Plant, the Govt. of India built up an Air Strip at Rourkela in 60’s and till 1991 it was under Government control. In 1991 the management and control of this Air strip was transferred to Steel Authority of India (SAIL), Rourkela Steel Plant.

A memorandum of understanding was signed between SAIL and Airport Authority of India (AAI) for operation and management of the airstrip in April last year under the Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) –‘Ude Desh ka Aam Naagrik’ (UDAN).

Reportedly, officials of the Civil Aviation Department had reviewed the preparedness of the airstrip at Rourkela and had declared the airport is ready.

Notably, five airstrips are to be operational in Odisha under Centre’s UDAN scheme. While Bhubaneswar, Jharsuguda have already become operational, Rourkela (SAIL) Jeypore and Utkela (Kalahandi) are on cards. These airports are being jointly developed by Airport Authority of India (AAI) and the State Government.

ALSO READ: Comedian Kapil Sharma thanks sand artist Sudarsan Pattnaik

Rourkela airport

Similar Posts