Home > Odia News > 100-ft tricolour to be installed at 26 railway stations in Odisha

100-ft tricolour to be installed at 26 railway stations in Odisha

East Coast Railway (ECoR) has decided to install monumental tricolour (National Flags) atop 100 feet tall poles at 26 railway stations having historical and tourist importance in Odisha.

The proposed list of railway stations, includes 13 under Khurda Road Railway Division, seven under Waltair and six under Sambalpur division, keeping in view good visibility, availability of space, safety and security measures. However, no two flags will be hoisted in close proximity to each other.

The stations where the Tricolour will be installed include Puri, Cuttack, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Keonjhar Road, Keonjhar, Angul, Dhenkanal, Khurda Road, Khurda Town, Nayagarh Town, Berhampur, Chhatrapur and Paradeep in Khurda Road railway division, Sambalpur, Bargarh Road, Balangir, Nuapada Road, Bhawanipatna and Mahasamund in Sambalpur division and Koraput, Rayagada, Paralakhmundi, Srikakulam Road, Vizianagaram, Jagadalpur and Dantewada in Waltair railway division.

“The Tricolour has already been installed at Bhubaneswar and Visakhapatnam stations. The stations where flags will be hoisted have been identified and work will be carried out soon,” said an ECoR spokesperson.

The selected stations are located either at district headquarters or have other historical and strategic importance. The move is expected to improve aesthetic values as well as impart a sense of nationalism among passengers.

READ: Winners from Odisha in Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Competition 2019

tricolour railway stations odisha

Similar Posts